Every lifecycle stage has numerous different touchpoints that the customer might experience. As an example of the BUY stage for a business with physical stores or shops, the touchpoints the customer may have with you could include:

  •     Interacting with a salesperson
  •     Watching a demonstration screen of the product
  •     Reading the box
  •     Using a display model
  •     Browsing your shelves
  •     Carrying the product to the payment point
  •     Paying for an item
  •     Being offered an extended warranty
  •     Being given their purchase in a carrier bag
  •     Receiving a receipt
  •     Being offered a discount off a next purchase – and many more too.

There are potentially many other BUY touchpoints in other channels you may have too, such as over the phone or online. The Sprint for Growth Blueprint allows you to map all your touchpoints under the relevant lifecycle stage, and this arrangement of lifecycle stages and touchpoints is called a Touchpoint Terrain Map – as shown in the image above. The interesting point to note is that if a customer is dealing with you then by default they are guaranteed to be at one of the touchpoints somewhere on the touchpoint terrain map. Because you can only influence customers at touchpoints, it’s important for businesses to realise that your customers actually live on your touchpoint map.

A well-developed (and used) touchpoint map helps you influence the behaviour of customers through the experiences you deliver at each touchpoint – and your aim should be to maximise the impact that each of your touchpoints has on the customer and on the way it advances them to the next point on their customer journey with you.

You can download a free copy of the Sprint for Growth Blueprint guide which explains touchpoint terrain maps in more detail here.

[shareaholic app="share_buttons" id=""]